USGS Maps with 3D Elevation in Blender

Ben Leamon
2 min readJan 24, 2021

Finally! After almost a year (and upgrading my ten year-old computer) I figured out how to add 3D elevation to old USGS maps in Blender. Here’s the original map from the USGS.

To which I added the hill-shade.

Which I then colored with the original map. I’m really pleased with the level of detail, even close up. Here is Point Reyes station and the surrounding hills.

Compared to what I was able to do on my old computer in QGIS, the difference is night and day. The shadows are softer, the light gentler, and the details better. Last May I was impressed with how much QGIS could do. Side by side, however, there is no comparison.

Blender is much, much better at 3D than QGIS.

That said, there is still a lot to do. I still want to improve the lighting and contrast, and figure out how to make maps with irregular outlines, like the original Point Reyes one on the right. I have a feeling that two or three iterations later, the process I use for these maps will be at least somewhat different, but for the moment, I’m quite happy with the results.

--

--